Tonight I took in Angels and Demons, I was satisfied. As with the novels themselves, I thought this movie was better than DaVinci Code. As for all the other little nitpicky things people seem to get all worked up about. . .blah, whatever. Hanks portrays a decent Langdon, not how I saw him, but what's so special about that? Changing aspects of the story to fit it all in the movie was fine with me too. And of course I always enjoy watching Ewan McGregor. ever since Trainspotting, the dude's just a fun actor. My only gripe with this movie was my main group with DaVinci Code, not enough of the back story on the art. (sigh) However, I felt they put a little more of that in this movie, but still. . .give me a two hour art history lesson, I'm game. Either way go see this one.
As for other recent movies, I've seen them but can't think of anything good or bad to say about them. Wolverine was alright. Star Trek was alright. Not much more I can say about them than that.
Saturday, May 16, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
Well....I saw Angel and Demons the other night. Honestly, I went under protest...I've had no desire to read the books or watch the movies. (I wanted to go see Star Trek...but my friends are soooo not SciFi kinds of people.) Haven't seen the DaVinci Code and I'm still not sorry I haven't. I did enjoy A&D...but I think I probably enjoyed it because I had been to about 80% of the places they showed in Rome. Even on the big screen the size of San Pietro Piazza doesn't translate. (St. Peter's Square...in English) I really wanted to take a picture of the Pope's guard (the ones wearing the funny blue outfits) but my Friend wouldn't let. Something about respect and all that...I jsut thought they were funny! hehehehe...I guess I wasn't respecting them. I agree the story was pretty good...not enough art...especially considering the amount of Art present just in St. Peter's alone. The one place in Rome I wanted to see was the fountain of the 4 rivers in Piazza Navona...imagine my disappointment when the fountain was covered in scaffolding. Since that was just barely a year ago...it made me wonder how much of the fountain (where they dumped the last dude) was CGI...Italians are notoriously slow on restorations. It's their nature. Anyway...those are my thoughts. (I LOVED Star Trek - saw it this afternoon!)
I've been asked the question, why didn't I like Star Trek? Don't get me wrong, I liked the movie, I just wasn't ga ga over it for these two reasons. First, call me a bitter a-hole but I still haven't forgotten how much every one blasted the Star Wars prequels for being prequels. . .and what was was this may I ask? And don't give me the skewed timeline crap. Second, I just can't put my finger on it, but something felt off about the movie. So now you're wondering what did I like about it? Karl Urban as Bones, and Simon Pegg as Scotty. Captain Pike. And watching everyone beat the crap out of this guy that thought he was Shatner.
As for Angels and Demons. I know that all the stuff in St. Peter's square was CGI because they didn't even bother to ask the Vatican's permission to film there after the brew-ha-ha from the last movie.
Post a Comment